Which Countries’ Citizens Require Airport Transit Schengen Visa

The Schengen Area, comprising 26 European countries, has made travelling easier for many people within its borders. 

When it comes to airport transit, however, citizens from certain countries still require an Airport Transit Schengen Visa; we will look at this visa’s purpose and which countries’ citizens require it in this article.

Airport Transit Schengen Visa

The Schengen Area is an impressive accomplishment in Europe, providing borderless travel within its member states. Once entering a Schengen country, travellers are free to roam the entire Schengen Area without further passport checks or visa requirements.

Also Read: Documents Requirement For Lithuania Schengen Visa

Airport transit presents its own set of challenges. Certain travellers, even if they do not intend to exit the airport, must apply for and obtain an Airport Transit Schengen Visa as this helps ensure security and control over who enters the Schengen Area, even for short layovers.

Why Is an Airport Transit Schengen Visa Necessary?

Airport Transit Schengen Visas exist primarily to prevent illegal immigration, human trafficking and other security threats from using airports as entryways into the Schengen Area without proper scrutiny. 

Without them in place, individuals could use airports as entry points into Schengen territory with malicious intentions and potentially use them to bypass all necessary checks before entering.

Additionally, this visa ensures that travellers possess the proper documentation and eligibility requirements to travel within the Schengen Area – even if just taking connecting flights within it – in order to preserve its integrity as an area for border controls and security. With a round-trip flight itinerary, you can explore your destination and return home worry-free.

Countries Requiring Airport Transit Schengen Visas

Now let’s delve deeper into which countries’ citizens must obtain an Airport Transit Schengen Visa requirement. Since this list can change over time, be sure to double-check official sources before planning your travels. 

As of my last knowledge update in September 2021, here are a few countries whose citizens typically require such an entry permit:

  1. Afghanistan: Citizens of Afghanistan often require an Airport Transit Schengen Visa; however, exceptions may exist for individuals possessing certain residency permits or travel documents.
  2. Iraq: Citizens of Iraq generally require this visa; however, exceptions may apply depending on residency status or other factors.

  3. Syria: Syrian citizens typically require an Airport Transit Schengen Visa; however, specific situations or documents may exempt them from this requirement.

  4. Yemen: Yemenis often qualify for Airport Transit Schengen Visa requirements.

  5. Nigeria: Nigerian nationals may require this visa; however, exceptions exist for those with valid residency permits or specific travel documents.

  6. Bangladesh: Citizens from Bangladesh generally require an Airport Transit Schengen Visa.

  7. Pakistan: Citizens from Pakistan require this visa in order to transit through airports within the Schengen Area.

  8. Sudan: Citizens from Sudan often require an Airport Transit Schengen Visa.

Note that these requirements may change depending on your specific circumstances; always consult the official website or embassy or consulate of the Schengen country where you plan to transit for up-to-date information and processes related to visa application procedures.

Recommended: Which Countries Can I Travel To On A Schengen Visa?

Related Post